Part Time Vegan

part-time-vegan

It has been a while since I last posted a blog update.

It’s because my days are now infinitely busier. It’s wonderful and amazing to be busy  but also slightly overwhelming at times.

My lack of posting is certainly not due to lack of cooking  – it’s just the writing part that has been slowing down.

Today, however, I am going to share a little secret …..

……….that I am becoming a part time Vegan.

Why part time Vegan?

According to some studies a vegan diet is one of the best diets for weight loss and heart health. I was really tempted to become a vegan.

Really, me a vegan? 

I cannot imagine giving up bacon, butter, and milk but …..I am so curious about the benefits of veganism. 

Well, how about part-time vegan?  It seems like the best option for me. So here I am now becoming a part time vegan.

I must admit that being Vegan is actually fun, perhaps because I do it only part time and also because I got to try new recipes, learn about nutrition and new vegetables and grains. I even learned that eggplant can be used as meat substitute.  It’s an interesting exploration of cooking, food and health.

Here’s one of vegan dishes that I like:

Vegan Japanese Curry

Making homemade vegan Japanese curry is surprisingly simple and immensely satisfying. To help make this recipe even easier, we can use S&B Golden Curry Sauce Mix.

sb-golden-curry-sauce-mix

When I cooked the Japanese curry, I followed a recipe found in Japanese Cooking 101 with some modification. I also substitute the beef with Japanese eggplants and white button mushrooms.

Ingredients

  • 1 onions
  • 2 carrots
  • 2 potatoes
  • 2 eggplants
  • 4- 6 white button mushrooms
  • 3 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 2-3 cups water
  • 2 blocks of S&B curry sauce mix

For those who prefer to go all the way, you can use the Optional Seasonings instead of the S&B Sauce Mix:

  • 1 Tbsp ketchup
  • 1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 Tbsp apricot jam
  • 1 Tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp curry powder

Instructions

  • Cut vegetables into bite size pieces.
  • Heat oil and fry the eggplant in a pot for a few minutes, then take the fried eggplants out, set aside.
  • In the same pot, fry onions for 8 minutes. Add carrots and potatoes.

 

20170303_050306

 

  • After carrots and potatoes soften, add in the fried eggplants and button mushrooms
  • Add water to the pot. After it boils, skim fat, and reduce heat to low.
  • Cover and cook for 15 minutes until the carrots and potatoes become tender.
  • Remove from heat.
  • Add curry sauce mix. Stir well so the pieces of the mix dissolve.

 

my-vegan-japanese-curry

 

If you’d like to use the Optional Seasonings above, after remove from heat, add in the  ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, apricot jam, and soy sauce. Let it simmer for 10-15 minutes (cook longer if you’d like it thicker). If you’d like to add the optional curry powder, stir it in just before serving.

Serve the curry warm with rice

 

japanese-curry-101

Source of information & pictures:

Leave a Reply

