Sweeten Mother’s Day with Something Sweet

Great-Mothers-Day-gift-ideas-for-2015-from

All  Moms are special, including my Mom.

Every time Mother’s Day arrives, I always remember special foods that my Mom cooked for me during my childhood.

No doubt that there’s a powerful connection between my Mom and foods. After all, it was my Mom who fed me my first meal and most of the foods I ate growing up.  My Mom comforted me with my favorite soup, cheer me up with sweet treat, and made my favorite meals just because she loved me.

To sweeten Mother’s Day, I would like to share a simple sweet treat locally known as “Manisan Kolang Kaling” (candied palm fruit) which my Mom often made for me and my sisters as sweet treat when we were kids.

What is ‘Kolang Kaling’?

Kolang Kaling is edible fruit taken from palm trees scientifically called Arenga pinnata. The fruit has oval shape, white and soft like jelly. The palm trees from which the Kolang Kaling are harvested are commonly found in some forests along Java island.

This fruit of the sugar palm tree is soft and a bit rubbery, and adds to the flavor of many sweet snacks and drinks.

 

kolangkaling-from-bertuah-com

Kolang Kaling (also known as buah tap) is widely consumed in the my country. They often are made into candies of different flavors and colors. It is also one of the favorite desserts that most commonly found during Ramadan.

 

Resep Manisan Kolang Kaling

Kolang kaling can also be served in variety of types of preparations, such as stuffing compote or a mixture of cold drinks.

 

Kolang Kaling found on dimasharif-com

Kolang Kaling is not only fresh because it contains much of water, it also contains of protein, carb, and fibres that provide many benefits for the body.  That’s why if someone eats kolang-kaling, he/she will quickly feel full, and it even can decrease the appetite. Thus, kolang-kaling is suitable for people who are on a diet.

I found the step by step of making “Manisan Kolang Kaling” (candied Palm Fruit) in http://www.indonesian-medan-food.blogspot.com and another recipe in http://www.sajiansedap.com. In this post, I combined both recipes and modified a bit as follows:

Ingredients

  • 500 gram Kolang Kaling
  • 1000 ml water to boil
  • 750 ml water for cooking the syrup
  • 250 gram sugar
  • 2 pandan leaves (or vanilla paste as substitute)
  • 5 kaffir lime leaves
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon food coloring (if desired)

Method

  • wash well the kolang-kaling  and drained

step 1 manisan kolang kaling indonesian-medan-food-blogspot

  • Boil the water and put the kolang kaling into the boiling water
  • And as soon as the water starts to boil again, turn the heat off

step 2 manisan kolang kaling

  • Remove the Kolang kaling from the boiling water and put  on a strainer, allow them to cool and really dry (at least for 1 hour)

step 3 manisan kolang kaling

  • In a pan, boil 750 ml water
  • add in sugar, kaffir lime leaves, pandan leaves, salt and the food coloring (if desired)
  • continue to cook until the syrup is boiling
  • add in the kolang kaling in the boiling syrup for a while
  • remove the kolang kaling from the syrup and allow them to cool

step 4 manisan kolang kaling

  • reboil the syrup
  • then pour in the kolang kaling back in the syrup and let it cool over night
  • repeat the process until the syrup thickened and the kolang kaling  are glazed

This is the look of “Manisan Kolang Kaling” without food coloring

Manisan Kolang Kaling from Indonesian-Medan-Food-blogspot

And this is the look of “Manisan Kolang Kaling” with food coloring

MANISAN_KOLANG-KALING from sajian sedap - com
HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY

 Sources of information & pictures:

 

Leave a Reply

