Being a Happy Weekday Vegetarian

weekday vegetarian 2Entering the year 2014, I suddenly felt the need to feed my body  in a way that says I love me enough to want only what is best for me.

I know about the perils of eating too much fat and meaty dish, and I desperately want to fill my body with food that I believe is more healthy.

I was aware that there are challenges associated with eating meat, and with becoming a vegetarian. As with other aspects of being human and being alive, each of these alternatives have both pros and cons.

With this in mind, I have decided to try to benefit from both worlds by being a weekday vegetarian

weekday vegetarian

What does weekday vegetarian mean?

For me, it means choosing to eat, five days a week, a diet that is  vegetarian or meatless while two days a week during week end I enjoy the delicious and satisfying taste of meat.

Some people who are vegetarian consider all animal flesh as meat, including the flesh of fish and fowl. For these people, it is important to exclude meat from their diet. I know other people who consider themselves to be vegetarian who will still eat butter, cheese, eggs, and milk.

Then, there are people who are  “extreme vegetarians,” and they are called vegans. Vegans eat only food from plant sources, and they exclude from their diets both meat and animal products such as butter, cheese, eggs and milk.

Why weekday vegetarian?

Becoming a weekday vegetarian comes with some benefits. On one side, it costs less to prepare meatless dishes and there’s the health advantage. On the other side, no need to shun the food I love! 

Going veggie five days a week can deliver noticeable health, environmental and financial benefits, but it’s not so big a change that I’ll feel overwhelmed.

The key is getting the nutrients I need on my five no-meat days and satisfying my hunger and pleasing my taste buds on the other two days.

Becoming a weekday vegetarian is the perfect step to trying meatless eating

Since I became weekday vegetarian, one of my favorite snacks is ‘vegetarian mini martabak’ and here’s the recipe:

Ingredient for the skin

  • I use spring roll skins and this recipe is for 10 mini martabak using 10 pieces of spring roll skins

springrollwrapper

Ingredients for the filling

  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 small onion , chopped
  • 5 stalks of scallions, thinly sliced
  • 2 eggs
  • salt and pepper
  • beef flavor enhancer (I use Maggie block)
  • 100 grams mushrooms (as meat substitute) thinly sliced

Instructions:

  • sauté the garlic and onion until turn golden brown
  • add in the mushroom
  • add in the sliced scallions
  • add salt and pepper and stir fry until well cooked.
  • let it cool
  • beat the eggs, add in the stir fry vegies and mix it well.
  • prepare the spring roll skin on the plate, put the filling to the skin, fold it nicely
  • heat up the oil on a frying pan
  • fry the martabak on hot oil until both sides are golden brown

Serve warm with bird-eye-chilies

martabak mini 1bird eye chili

Leave a Reply

