When the Goings get Tough, the Tough gets Cooking

Of all rooms in a home, I think kitchen is the most important. For me kitchen is the heart of a home where love is often expressed through cooking and serving food for our loved ones.

I find spending time in my kitchen and cooking for my family is NOT ONLY an absolutely satisfying experience BUT also a wonderful stress- buster.

Cooking is a wonderful way for self-expression and bringing out one’s creativity. A little interest and now with the world of internet opening up several doors (and windows too) for us, it is an experience that is unmatched.

Its even better when it is a new recipe that I am trying to cook. I find the excitement of cooking something new truly a wonderful experience.  Especially when finally my creation is done and my family like it.

So when the goings get tough, the tough gets cooking……

Some days ago when I was feeling stress out because of too much work and pressure at the office, I took one day leave and decided to try cooking a new recipe of  ‘Ayam Panggang Padang’ (Baked Chicken Padang Style).

We have many different recipes of ‘Ayam Panggang’ but the Padang style which I usually eat at the famous Padang restaurant is one of the most delicious baked chickens.

Here’s my version of cooking ‘Ayam Panggang Padang’ step-by-step

I use organic free-range chicken or known as ‘Ayam Kampung’ because it is more healthy and tasty. Cut the chicken into 4 pieces and brush with tamarind sauce.

Spice Ingredients:

Grind all the spice ingredients in a mortar using pestle into a spice paste except the fragrant ingredients as follows:

  • lemon grass, take the white part only and then bruised
  • pandan leaves – tear the leaves and tie into a knot
  • kaffir lime
  • turmeric leaf

  • Stir fry the fragrant ingredients in a wok on medium heat
  • Add in the spice paste and continue to stir fry until fragrant

  • Add in the chicken and continue to cook for around 20 minutes

  • Prepare 1 cup of  coconut milk and 100 gram of roasted coconut

  • Pour in the coconut milk, simmer and stir occasionally

  • Add in 1 teaspoon grated palm sugar and 1 teaspoon of tamarind sauce
  • Add in the roasted coconut, simmer on low heat until the liquid is thickened

  • Brush a baking pan with oil and then move the chicken and the gravy into the baking pan

  • Bake the chicken in the oven at 175 degree Celsius for around 30 minutes and

voila……….this was the result …

When I served this baked chicken to my family, they enjoyed it till the last bite…….and immediately my stress was disappeared………..

Leave a Reply

