Cooking ‘Outside the Wok’

 

Along my delightful journey of cooking, I have tried different types of cooking methods: stir frying, deep frying, braising, and even slow cooking (all inside the wok) but so far never try ‘baking’.

Why not baking?

I thought I am not a baking type of a person and I did not even know how to handle the oven.  I am the type of a person who prefers simple, easy and free style cooking, and to me baking sounds rather intimidating. For so long, I have been comfortable with cooking inside the wok …….

Until  one morning …….

while sipping my coffee, I was craving for oatmeal cookies which I once bought at Star Buck.  But I didn’t feel like going out that day and the nearest Star Buck Coffee is around 5 km away from my home …..then I said to myself ‘why not trying to make my own oatmeal cookies?’

But…it means I have to bake.

‘So what if you have to bake’, I challenged myself. The worst thing could happen is I screw-up the cookies. After weighing the pros and cons, I decided to give it a try and start ‘cooking outside the wok’ – get out my comfort zone and start to bake 

I checked my kitchen cabinet and yes, I found a bag of oatmeal, brown sugar, unsalted butter, egg, flour and dried raisins. I thought these  ingredients were sufficient to create the cookies.   I got excited…and here was my simple oatmeal cookies experiment

 Ingredients

  •  100 gram quick cook oatmeal
  •  2 tablespoons brown sugar
  •  50 gram unsalted butter – put on medium heat to melt until bubbling and brown in color
  •  1 (one) egg, beat slowly
  • 2 tablepoons of all purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon of dried raisins

 Method

  •  Mix the melted butter and egg  in a bowl (wet mix)
  •  Mix the oats, brown sugar and flour in another bowl (dry mix)
  •  Combine  the wet and dry ingredients mix
  •  Mix thoroughly into a dough
  • Add raisins into the dough

Take 1 tablepoon of the dough and shape it into a cookie-form

  • Repeat until no dough remains and you will get around 12 cookies
  • Cover the base of a baking pan with aluminum foil
  • Arrange the cookies on the pan

Bake in pre-heated oven at 150 degree Celsius (or 300 degree F or Mark 2) with both upper and bottom flame for 30 minutes.

Hey, finally I can bake… and it’s not as intimidating as I thought. And my invented oatmeal cookies were not bad at all …. I love the cookies and it goes very well as ‘the companion of a cup of hot coffee’.  

 

3 responses to “Cooking ‘Outside the Wok’

  1. Awww … it looks delicious Tan:)
    Opposite of you … i think I’d prefer baking than cooking … cooking’s kinda messy (most likely it involves raw meat) … baking is so much … cleaner?

    • Dear Gussie, if you can’t stand raw meat, yeah cooking can be more messy than baking but to me cooking is much more fun. Since we are different, we can make a good team, I’ll do the cooking and you’ll do the baking so we can have a complete meal🙂

  2. These oatmeal cookies look so appetizing…will try out soon.

Leave a Reply

